Dare I say…healthy bread pudding?

July 13, 2011 at 12:04 am 4 comments

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeew. Hi guys! Hot and sticky here in Chicago. The weather has been sorta all over the place — 108 degrees yesterday, 102 today, then it cooled off significantly after work when the clouds rolled in…then rain! I didn’t turn the AC on when I got home because it’s cool enough outside, but it’s still sweltering inside my apartment. Blegh!

would love to dive into a pile of these right now

I actually did my heaping mound of dishes last night (!!!), but still have a giant basket of clothes to put away, then an even bigger pile of laundry to do. Sometimes, being a grown-up sucks.

After getting home from work and immediately changing into some sweat wicking clothes, I noshed on a Gardenburger topped with goat cheese and avocado while joining in on the #fitblog chat that was tonight. It was so much fun! This was my very first one and while it was totally brain-melting (soooooo many tweets bombarding you at once!), I had a great time “interacting” with so many healthy living bloggers at the same time. I highly recommend doing the next one to anyone who is curious! You can learn more about #fitblog chats here.

I never thought I would use or love Twitter as much as I do…It’s so much more social than just sitting behind a screen — I even got to meet Allie and Mel via Twitter! :)

So I promised I would give ya a certain recipe, huh?

 

That’s bread pudding!!! I love bread pudding, except I can’t handle the super heavy, creamy, over-sweet versions you often find in restaurants or at stores. I also don’t like the idea of making a huge pan of it since I live alone, so the only solution when I was craving it a few weeks ago seemed to be making my own mini-bread puddings!

Unfortunately, it was so good that I may have had two of them and a bite each of the remaining two…whoops :)

The base recipe is very easy, and the best part is that you can customize it with any toppings/flavors/mix-ins you want. I did two maple cinnamon walnut, one with dried wild blueberries and one chocolate chip! But I can imagine adding fresh/frozen fruit, cocoa powder, nut butter…the combinations are endless!

all cooked! bloo-burries

ready for ze oven!

Laura’s fantabulous, individual healthy bread pudding:

Ingredients:

  • 4 pieces whole wheat bread, torn into small pieces (you can use gluten-free, but I didn’t try this)
  • 3 fresh, organic eggs
  • 3 T honey (you can use agave too)
  • 3 T sugar
  • 1 cup unsweetened almond milk (you could use sweetened or flavored almond milk, or other milk of your choice as well)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • cinnamon to taste
  • pinch sea salt
  • fresh lemon zest (optional, but this will really perk up the flavor!)
Directions:
  1. Heat oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Tear up bread into bite-size pieces if  you haven’t already and place in large bowl.
  3. Beat eggs in small bowl. Add vanilla, sugar, honey, cinnamon, salt and lemon zest.
  4. Spray 4 small ramekins (mine are about 1 cup capacity) with cooking spray.
  5. Pour almond milk and egg picture over bread, and gently fold mixture together with spatula (or your hands!)
  6. Evenly distribute bread and custard mixture into the 4 ramekins and top with any leftover liquid from mixing bowl. It’s okay if you don’t use all of the bread mixture, and the ramekins also don’t need to be all the way full.
  7. Top each pudding with whatever toppings you like — you can leave them in on top of the pudding, push them inside with a spoon, or if you want one uniform flavor, you can fold them in while mixing in the larger bowl.
  8. Fill a large square or rectangular oven-safe pan with about 1-1.5 inches of water. Gently place ramekins in pan so water reaches about halfway up outside of ramekins.
  9. Optional step: I topped mine with brown sugar to form a crusty top.
  10. Carefully place dish in oven and bake for about 45 minutes, or until tops of pudding start to lightly brown.
  11. Let cool for 10 minutes and dig in!
I promise you’ll love this stuff, and although I haven’t calculated the calorie count of each, I don’t feel bad about eating them at all! Best of all, they’re super easy to whip up in case you’re having company over, or if you’re just randomly craving something sweet. Just make sure not to make them on a hot night like tonight, or else you might overcook yourself inside your apartment ;)
Happy baking!
Entry filed under: Blogging, Food and diet, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Grown-up responsibilities Linked: A Tale in Forgiveness

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marlanayi  |  July 13, 2011 at 9:17 am

    These look amazing. Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply
  • 2. In Sweetness and In Health  |  July 13, 2011 at 5:08 pm

    Oh yum that sounds awesome!! Thank you so much for sharing :)

    Reply
  • 3. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions  |  July 13, 2011 at 7:18 pm

    That is way, way too warm. Thanks for the individualized recipe, too. I cook for myself and just myself most of the time I’m cooking, and it’s nice to see recipes designed for not-a-crowd.

    Reply
    • 4. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  July 13, 2011 at 7:25 pm

      I know! It’s so difficult to find recipes for one or one + leftovers…Not to mention the fact that I have VERY little workspace in the kitchen. Gotta keep it simple! I am not one to turn up my nose at using my coffee table to prep ingredients either…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Archives


