Weekend warrior

July 11, 2011 at 1:12 pm Leave a comment

Hi friends!

So excited for some of the feedback and crazy pageviews (more than I’ve ever gotten!) from my guest post on FFF. I am still in awe of how many people stopped over to check out PLW, even if they didn’t decide to come back, haha. I love Ali’s blog, so I was so excited for the opportunity! :)

My weekend was pretty interesting. I babysat on Saturday, which actually turned out to be a lot of fun. The little boy is 16 mo. old, and I’m starting to adore him. He can be a little difficult at times (e.g. SCREAMING bloody murder when I turn off Finding Nemo), but for the most part he is such a sweet little guy and he is starting to warm up to me — I got a bunch of hugs when I left! I nannied all throughout college to make extra money, so getting to babysit occasionally now just melts my heart. I love little kids and know that someday when I have my own, I’m gonna make a pretty great mama.

BABIES! IN A VASE!

That is not, however, going to happen anytime soon.

If you’re looking for some great fitness-friendly family and prego posts, check out the Fitnessista’s Family page!

After my babysitting gig, I had some serious errands to do and spend most of the afternoon running around like a chicken with my head cut off. These were special errands with a very specific focus, but they turned out to be a total bust. I may or may not elaborate on this, but at this point I am feeling totally let down, like all of my effort was for nothing. I don’t deal well with disappointment/let-downs, so I was feeling pretty down in the dumps.

That evening, I went out for dinner and drinks with some friends, and ended up drinking far too much. I had a pretty good time, but the night also ended on a sour note. I haven’t been on out a drankin’ bender in awhile, so I clearly was not prepared for the traditional drunken feast when I arrived home. Case in point: I woke up at 4:30am, all of my lights on, with the other half of the bagel I apparently couldn’t (forgot to?) finish, cream cheese side down, on the floor, next to the plate.

Phone was next to me, not plugged in, with half-written text message to someone I never talk to, reading, “gjkj gh popsicl hahahah.”

Yeah…still trying to figure that one out. Any drunk-ese translators out there?

Sunday, after sleeping in and sleeping off a wicked hangover, was spent at Laura’s house, hibernating, eating pizza and watching movies on Netflix. We ordered fresh tomato and basil, but Laura unknowingly ordered their thick-crust pizza, which was essentially a loaf of bread with pizza toppings. I wish I had thought to snap a picture, because this stuff was EPICALLY and almost comically thick, but we were far more focused on finding a comfortable spot on her obnoxious futon (sorry, Laura!) and picking out a good movie.

The pizza was good though, and after figuring out how to pick away some of the doughy mass, I had about four square slices for “lunch,” then another 2 or three a few hours later for “dinner.” This is what happens when I’m too hungover to eat anything until 4 o’clock.

Interestingly enough, we chowed down on our refined flour pizza while watching a documentary called Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead, which was about an overweight Aussie guy named Joe Cross who goes on a 60-day juice fast to help him rid his body of a chronic skin disease called urticaria. Laura decided halfway through the film that she needed to eat a piece of raw broccoli.

It was far more interesting that I thought it would be (in general, I think juice fasts are a little extreme), but after getting the initial preaching out of the way, he presents the idea in a very approachable manner. The best part of the film was the touching transformation he helped inspire in a 400-lb truck driver from Iowa. It’s on Netflix Instant, so look it up if you’re curious! Fair warning: the website is a little market-y, though, and he is pushing his juice fast, which is called the “Reboot.” I haven’t looked at it yet.

My next 5k is this weekend! How did that happen??? Gotta get myself to the gym and get a few runs in, which I have mostly been avoiding due to possible shin splints and severe congestion. I’m really hoping I start feeling better soon, otherwise this run is going to be a serious struggle.

Have a great day!

Entry filed under: Blogging, Boozing, Favorite blogs, Fitness, Food and diet, Friends, Life, Motivation, Movies. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Welcome one, welcome all! Grown-up responsibilities

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


