Grown-up responsibilities

July 11, 2011 at 10:49 pm 4 comments

Hi there.

This is staring me in the face tonight. So is this:

Recognize the Magic Bullet cup in there? ;)

Aaaack, I haaaaaaaaaaaaate doing dishes. I definitely need to move into an apartment with a dishwasher sometime soon.

I just got back from a stroll to the grocery store. I decided to stay in for a “date night” with myself Friday night (geez, how lame does that sound) and picked up a few items (wine, strawberries, almond milk — you know, the makings of a really sexy evening…*eyeroll*). When I opened up the strawbs package today, they were already moldy! :(

Luckily I saved the receipt, so when I brought them back after dinner tonight, they were happy to exchange them! Yay! I know that’s not a huge deal, but it’s the little things like that which make a huge difference in a customer’s experience. Keep up the good work, Treasure Island! :)

Guess what has two thumbs and will be having strawberries for breakfast tomorrow? This gal.

Apparently a huge portion of Chicagoland is still without power right now from the crazy storms and winds that blew through this morning. I love storms, they always totally relax me, so although I woke up briefly when some thunder came through, I fell right back asleep and snuggled peacefully deeper into my blankets :)

Thankfully I wasn’t outside like the last time we had a major storm when I was on the way to the gym!

Stuck under the awning...this was around 7pm!

the sky got scary dark

I’m a little stumped right now. I know I need to do my dishes and make my lunch for tomorrow, but I also could do some work, or clean my apartment (it seems it’s perpetually messy these days); I also want to continue reading my book, on top of watch the latest episode of True Blood. So many things to do, so little time! I could just solve the dilemma entirely by going to bed, but what fun would that be?

I still I might get all the dishes out of the way since it feels good to be on my feet at the moment. After dinner, I had a hankering for a little something sweet, so I scooped up a small ramekin of So Delicious soy peanut butter-chocolate “ice cream,” I’d say about 1/2 to 3/4 cup.

source: Organic Test Kitchen

It’s relatively decent in the calorie count, so I felt fine about it as long as I kept the portion small. You may remember that I’ve discussed my lactose intolerance before, so regular ice cream is out of the question for me, and since I’m not huge on sweets, I rarely crave it anyway. I find that if I keep a bar of dark chocolate in the freezer, it will last me weeks because a small square every once in awhile is all I need.

Sometimes, though, I want something different so I picked this up for a change of pace. Taste-wise, it was pretty decent — I definitely liked the peanut butter flavor better than the chocolate, and it wasn’t overly sweet which I really appreciated. On the other hand, though, it had a subtle but very noticeable (at least to me) soy flavor that is more pronounced in soy milk. It didn’t really bother me since I’m used to it, but it wasn’t exactly adding to the flavor either. I’m not sure I’d buy this again, but I’m glad I gave it a try.

Unfortunately, though, I now habe a tummy ache! Ick. It’s a lot less uncomfortable than I feel after eating real ice cream, but I still feel kind of uncomfortably full and just sort of yucky. I think this is just more evidence that my body doesn’t like processed sweets and dessert foods — that’s okay, I’d rather have the strawberries anyway :)

Although…maybe I can bend the rules just a little for this stuff.

More on this stuff next time :)

Have a great night!

Entry filed under: Favorite products, Food and diet, Motivation. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Weekend warrior Dare I say…healthy bread pudding?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ashley  |  July 12, 2011 at 8:55 pm

    Looks like you live by me if your gym is in boystown! How fun another Chicago blogger! Subscribed :)

    Reply
  • 2. Cait's Plate  |  July 12, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I’ve had that So Delicious before – it’s SO good. The chocolate/peanut butter is definitely my favorite flavor :)

    Also – I had the same thing staring at me tonight from the sink/dish drainer. It’s probably my least favorite thing to do ever! I always try to convince my boyfriend to do it for me but so far it doesn’t work so well. Haha

    Reply
  • 3. In Sweetness and In Health  |  July 12, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Hi! I just found your blog…and started following you on twitter (I’m not creepy I swear :)). I wanted to say hello! Can’t wait to read more :)

    Reply
    • 4. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  July 12, 2011 at 10:08 pm

      Hi! Not creepy at all :) So glad to have you stop by!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Archives


