Burning a hole in my pocket

July 5, 2011 at 5:10 pm 4 comments

Afternoon!

I am totally beat today, guys. My weekend certainly gave me a beating. I’ll do a more in-depth rundown later (complete with a couple hilarious pictures), but I wanted to pop in and say hello first. (Plus, I totally can’t focus at work right now…heh).

Part of the reason? PACKAGES!

Confession: I’m totally obsessed with Amazon. I use it to buy almost everything I need, if it can be found on the site. I have purchased everything from chia seeds, to bedding, to appliances and, of course, books. Most recently, I ordered a fabric shower curtain liner (because the makeshift, plastic-y gross one I bought was overstaying its intended temporary welcome), a lunch bag, and a spillproof bottle for smoothies when I take them to work as breakfast. I can’t help myself when it comes to Amazon — their one-click ordering is a TERRIBLE, yet oh-so wonderful invention. Whenever my bank account is burnin’ a hole in my pocket, I go wild with the ‘Zon.

Side note: I’ve noticed that the Fitnessista, Allie (FFF) and Tina (Carrots n Cake) all have really neat to-go-smoothie bottles (especially Fitnessista). Mine are lacking. Anyone else have any other cool finds?

I picked up this guy:

I got it in this nifty green color, although now I’m sort of wishing I had gone with the pink ;) I haven’t tried it out yet, but I can’t wait to give it a test run soon! Should be a great addition to my collection, where I already have a Life Factory and a Camelback, and can be used for the gym too. I love fun water bottles :)

I’m super-duper excited about the lunch bag. Since I bring my lunch to work almost every day now, it’s starting to look a little pathetic when I roll in with a plastic Walgreens bag. I figured I should splurge a bit with the money saved from packing a lunch, and get myself a proper lunch tote. It finally got here, and I’m so pumped!

Please excuse the crappy camera phone pictures. I don’t usually have my good cam with me at work.

This is from Built, and it’s  the “Gourmet Getaway Lunch Tote.” It’s insulated, which is great.

the inside

for size comparison, next to my giant 6-cup OXO container

all together now

It seems like this will have room for everything I need and more, but won’t get too bulky or cumbersome (even though it looks huge in these pictures). It has several folded areas that helps it conform to whatever shape it takes from the stuff inside, and the handles are also obviously very handy (ba dum chhhhh! zing!). I can’t wait to carry this in every day!

It should be able to hold all my goodies, like this:

And these:

Seeing a common theme here? ;)

I finally snapped a pic of my Greek Quinoa Salad + salad combo, since this is like the bajillionth time I’ve had it for lunch. It’s just so good!

How scrumptious does that look?? With this batch, I subbed cannellini beans for chickpeas, because it was what I had on hand, but I didn’t like it as much. I also brought some black cherry Chobani and blueberries to have on the side, but haven’t eaten them yet since I’ll be at work late.

Not posting the pic of the shower curtain liner because…well, it’s a shower curtain liner.

Really though, is there anything more exciting that getting fun stuff in the mail?

I actually ordered this stuff weeks ago, but it came in two separate shipments (there is an additional re-usable travel cup still on its way), so I didn’t think much of it when I didn’t receive the stuff right away. Usually when I order “essentials” or housewares on Amazon, it’s not urgent, so I don’t mind waiting around for the stuff to get there. When I finally got around to wondering where my stuff was, I logged onto Amazon and saw that my package had apparently already been delivered, to my apartment, over a week ago.

Whaaaa?

This didn’t make sense because I definitely didn’t see the package in our mailbox area. I tried to call USPS to figure out what was going on, but I quickly learned that their automated phone system is THE ABSOLUTE WORST, akin to what you would expect from post office service. I must have gone in circles through the same menu six or seven times before hanging up. Ugh.

I called Amazon, and they assured me that the package had been delivered according to the records (I told them that yes, I saw this too when I looked it up, but I definitely didn’t have the package). Having worked in customer service for years, I really make a strong effort to be nice and courteous to the person on the phone (unless they are a total asshole and/or rude to me) because I remember how much easier that made it for me to fix problems when people would call in. The lady on the phone had to put me on hold several times, so I was expecting them to apologize and tell me that I just had to suck it up and eat the cost of the lost package. But to my surprise, she came back and told me that if the package didn’t arrive on my doorstep by that night, they would ship out a replacement, no questions asked. I was so happy! Amazon seriously has the whole customer service thing nailed — they won’t fight with you, you’ll get a human being on the phone within 15 seconds of calling, and they always follow up to make sure they’ve solved the issue. I was so happy and will continue to buy things through Amazon if their price is best (which it usually is!).

On that note, US Postal Service: YOU SUCK. I wish it were easier to avoid using them, but at least I can do so for most packages.

I ate lots of crap this weekend. I kept portion sizes in check, which felt great, and also made sure to compensate by eating clean and smaller portions throughout the day when I knew I’d be eating junk later in the day. On Saturday night, my friend Megan came into town and we hit up DMK since she had never been there before. Like my last visit, I ordered the #2. We also split the bacon + blue cheese fries (small portion) and the fried okra + pickles (YUM). I also had a delicious fancy drink before dinner came, but I can’t remember the name. Again, please excuse the poor photos — it was so dark inside!

I walked away a very happy girl, mmm.

On Friday night, some of this stuff was consumed while relaxing with some new friends on a torch-lit back patio:

Even though there were lots of festivities, I kept my drink consumption to 1-2 drinks each night, with the exception of Saturday, which was a girls’ night ;) That’s a whole different animal, my friends.

I’ll update ya on my comings and goings on Sunday and Monday later, as well as some more info about the latest running injuries I’m dealing with :/ Blegh!

Have a great rest of your day! And just for laughs, a hilarious post-5k picture in my full Pride gear. Enjoy :D

Entry filed under: Boozing, Favorite blogs, Favorite products, Fitness, Food and diet, Friends, Life, Recipes, Restaurants, Shameless consumerism. Tags: , , , , , , .

Body image and self-confidence, through the eyes of Facebook Playing catch-up + “massaged” kale caprese salad

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions  |  July 5, 2011 at 6:04 pm

    Suuuuuuper cute lunch bag.

    And to answer your question: no, there is nothing more exciting than getting fun things in the mail. Although maybe I’m not the best person to answer that, because I love getting anything in the mail. Letters, junk, magazines, even e-mails. I’m weird like that haha.

    Reply
  • 2. Whitney  |  July 5, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    I <3 that lunch bag–I have the exact same one.

    I went to my mailbox today and there was nothing in it–and I was thinking how happy mail makes me! I'm so glad someone else is on the same page on the same day.

    Reply
  • 3. Sarah @ goingongoals  |  July 6, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I have the same lunch bag and love it!!!

    Reply
  • 4. Mel  |  July 7, 2011 at 4:49 pm

    Mail = love. And fun fact, if your .edu email still works you can sign up for one free year of Amazon Student, which is one free year of Amazon Prime – which means you get free 2-3 day shipping on most items.
    Also I’ve had the worst worst worst experience with UPS and USPS – they’ve lost passports, cell phones, straighteners, coats, basically all the impt stuff I desperately needed on time. I’m glad Amazon fixed it for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


