I’m Still Here

June 23, 2011 at 6:14 pm 9 comments

No, I’m not referencing Joaquin Phoenix’s highly publicized and ultimately fake meltdown.

so sexy

Just letting y’all know that I haven’t fallen into a ditch somewhere, or possibly lost my mind. (Okay, the latter may be true, but only a little bit)

Life is a little cray-cray right now, and despite the fact that I feel like my life is always a little nutso, it has been more difficult than usual lately.

  • I’m having some health issues that will (hopefully) be resolved by the middle of next week – in the meantime, waiting is really tough
  • A close family friend just started chemo for her second cancer diagnosis, and it’s horrifically scary :(
  • I’m at a turning point in work where my initial training period is coming to an end and my performance is expected to increase significantly
  • My 5k (and very first race) is Saturday morning
  • I’m attempting to wade my way out of moderate (but substantial for me, who has never had any) credit card debt
  • I’m still working to get over a break-up
  • Horrible allergies and a messy apartment are making all of the above significantly more difficult

I have also been feeling significantly fatigued recently — moreso than my usual lazy self — and I’m thinking that my diet is lacking, so therefore my iron is lacking. I have all the necessary supplements at home, but my messy apartment and lack or organization makes it tough to get my act together.

On the to-do list tonight: get in a 2 mile run with Amy, pick up my race packet, hit up Trader Joe’s or WF for groceries (I have been eating random canned items for dinner…times are getting desperate), update the blog with a few funny stories, a few sad stories, and a few really great recipes (this may have to wait a bit longer :( sorry guys!), do the painfully huge mound of dishes in my sink, fold and put away the OTHER painfully huge mound of clothes atop my bed, and last but not least — get to bed at a decent hour.

I’m surprisingly cheerful for this level of craziness, but I may just be hiding from reality…who knows. Anyway, just wanted to pop in and say hello — I promise I’m here and will be back soon. Missing my bloggies!

Entry filed under: General, Life, Shameless consumerism, Work. Tags: , , , , , , .

Rainy day + sugary sweets :)

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hayley @ Hayley Daily  |  June 24, 2011 at 5:14 am

    You are missed, girl! Get yourself healthy and back to normal though. I definitely know what you mean with the extra fatigue…I go through phases of that as well. I hope you start feeling better very soon. :)

    Reply
    • 2. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  June 26, 2011 at 12:18 am

      Thanks girl!! What have you done to combat the fatigue? I’m always looking for suggestions…

      Reply
  • 3. Marlanayi  |  June 24, 2011 at 8:39 am

    I can’t wait for the upcoming posts! Good luck at the 5K. You can do it. Just keep running!!

    Reply
    • 4. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  June 26, 2011 at 12:17 am

      Ahaha…We got to a tough point in the course and I actually started chanting, “Just keep swimming, just keep swimming.” It was ridiculous but totally worked! :)

      Reply
  • 5. Bethany  |  June 24, 2011 at 10:20 pm

    Good luck on tomorrow’s race!! I haven’t checked out tomorrow’s Chicago forecast, but I know here in west Michigan it’s supposed to be gorgeous tomorrow. Hopefully the same is true in Chitown and you get a fabulous race in! Can’t wait to hear all about it :)

    Reply
    • 6. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  June 26, 2011 at 12:16 am

      <3 it was absolutely gorgeous :)

      Reply
  • 7. Monika @ Powered By Paprika  |  June 25, 2011 at 11:33 am

    Good luck on your first 5k!! :)

    Reply
    • 8. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  June 26, 2011 at 12:16 am

      Thanks Monika!! So excited to have you over here! FYI, some Chicago blogger ladies are getting together Tuesday night at Karyn’s on Green if you’d like to join!!

      Reply
  • 9. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  June 26, 2011 at 12:15 am

    Thank you guys so much, your nice words were so encouraging!!! I still get excited when your comments pop up in my inbox :) The race went well — take a peek at the picture I posted, and I can’t wait to tell you all about it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Archives


