Cliffhanger

June 6, 2011 at 2:17 pm 2 comments

Hi guys.

Sorry to leave you hanging with my last post. It has been a rough few days.

The fella I have previously mentioned a handful of times (not going to link to everything, but the butterflies post may have been particularly memorable) and I broke up on Thursday. It wasn’t really anticipated at all, and it happened while I was at work over the course of a conversation over text message. Needless to say, I was very upset and angry about how it went down. We had only been seeing each other for three months, but we both agreed that we felt close to each other pretty quickly, and cared about each other quite a bit. Even as I’m writing this now, I’m getting sad and tearing up a bit. For the moment, things still feel very unresolved and painful.

Men boys suck.

maybe I should re-read this guy?

source

In true Laura fashion, I drank way too much all weekend (this is both a good and a bad thing, hah) and didn’t really take the best care of myself. I also spent a decent amount of time crying and moping around.

Thankfully, I have some seriously incredible friends that not only talked me through things over and over again, but also put up with my moping, late night phone calls, and tearful moments in completely inappropriate places. One friend, whom I have just met recently and barely know, sat with me late last night after I had had a few too many drinks and smoothed my hair back while I slowly dozed off on my bed. You  know, while I had five or six people over at my house. (I’m a great host).

She is a wonderful person, and I feel lucky to have met her!

I know things are still fresh and that in time, the pain will fade and I will continue to do all the fun things I normally do. And I know that three months isn’t a very long time. But damn. This hurts a lot. I can’t help but feel pretty down on myself right now, even though I know that sometimes often, people just aren’t 100% compatible and need to acknowledge that and move on. But it’s hard not to take it personally. It’s also hard, and very saddening, to suddenly realize that the person you’ve spoken to every day for the past several months is going to be abruptly removed from your life. I miss him.

Did I mention that he gave me that complete bullshit about how incredible I am, and how much he values having me in his life? And still wants to hang out all the time? As friends?

Yeah, dude, I know I’m amazing. I don’t need you to validate that for me. But if you think you are going to still experience that, after some of the shit you pulled here, you are out of your damned mind.

Despite the constant sadness and crying fits, I actually had a pretty fun-packed weekend. Fun-packed doesn’t necessarily mean you’re enjoying every second of it — it just means you know you’re supposed to be. I went out with a few girlfriends to a great bar called Delilah’s (Lady Gaga stopped by there when she was in town last summer!) and had a drunken, singing cab ride home with a best friend. I went to the aptly-named “Sausage Fest” and drank some icy beer and ate some steamy…you guessed it, sausages. And I spent a lot of time with some truly wonderful people who care about me.

Sorry for the long, picture-less, totally bummed-out post. When I get a chance in the next day or so, I’ll share some fun pictures (look out for a sausage made of out a not-so-typical creature…) of my weekend to bring the mood back up around here.

Three weeks until my very first 5k that I am now officially registered for — yippee!!

Now I just need to, you know, be able to run 5k. *GULP*

Entry filed under: Boozing, Dating, Food and diet, Life. Tags: , , , , , .

Have you ever noticed… Hey, I put some new shoes on and suddenly everything was right…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. L.K.  |  June 7, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    I have heard the “you’re amazing, but…” speech more times than I can count. And it smarts every time, no matter how blatantly inappropriate the guy is for me. Keep running and drinking wine and leaning on your friends and buying shoes… that’s all you can really do, isn’t it?

    Reply
  • 2. Autumn  |  August 26, 2011 at 3:33 pm

    I know it sucks but best.post.ever. “If you think you’re going to experience that…you’re out of your damned mind.” Love.it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


