Hiatus

May 26, 2011 at 3:30 pm 4 comments

Friends, I have a confession to make…

I’m sure you’ve noticed I haven’t been posting much lately. That I’ve gone MIA from time to time. There’s a reason for this.

It has been..gasp…an entire month since I’ve worked out.

Gulp.

I could explain to you how life has been hectic and stressful (it has), with starting a new job and moving to a new apartment. I could explain how I simply feel burnt out, and couldn’t get myself excited or motivated with the usual tactics. I could even tell you about the knee pain that has been plaguing me, with the only solution being a seemingly expensive trip to the physical therapist that I simply cannot afford at the moment.

Unfortunately, these are just excuses. I haven’t exercised (vigorously) because…well, because I haven’t. I’ve chosen not to. There have certainly been days (say, the two weeks I was very sick with a nasty cold/sinus infection) where working out wouldn’t have been an option, or at least a good one, but there have been other days where I simply said, Eh, I don’t feel like it today. I’d rather watch TV and lay around the apartment.

I need to cut this shit out.

I’m running my first 5k in a few weeks, and thankfully I had been training enough beforehand where I feel I’ll still have plenty of time to do just fine, but this is the point where I need to shake some sense into my lazy ass and get it back in gear. I know a huge part of this has been feeling sorry for myself, not being able to fit in all the fun social activities brimming from every corner of Chicago in the summertime AND get my workouts in. Oh, well if I work out after work, I can’t do spontaneous things after work, like beers on the patio or concerts in the park. Well, Laura, figure it out.

I can’t lie to you — I’m freaked out. I’m worried that I’m going to continue to lose my diligence and totally suck at (or even completely bail out of) this 5k, especially after telling almost everyone I know about it. I’m worried I’m going to lose a grip on the progress I’ve made from making healthier portion and food choices, resulting in a ~10ish lb. weight loss. I’m worried I’m going to slip on a bathing suit and feel terrible about myself (again). I’m worried the lumpiness I see creeping up on my thighs is going to get worse.

I don’t like how I feel when I’m not working out, but sometimes — well, I’m a lazy piece of shit. It’s go-time, and I need to keep my eye on the prize and come up with a solution that will work with a) my tendency toward skipping workouts in order to lay on the couch or grab dinner/drinks with friends, b) my busy schedule, and c) my utter hatred of mornings/total inability to wake up early.

I have no idea how to do this. If you’ve been reading for awhile but never commented, now is the time…any and all tips, suggestions, stories or motivators are welcomed….Oh hell…PLEASE TELL ME HOW TO DO THIS, GUYS! I NEED HELP!!

Hmph. Well, that’s that :D

In other news, I’m still totally addicted to Greek yogurt. Seriously, this stuff is my crack — I go through a giant tub per week. It’s so delicious! And ya know what else is in abundance in Casa de Laura?

image

image

STRAWBERRIES. Oh. Mah. Gawd. I can’t get enough.

image

I had some with oatmeal the other day, but it couldn’t hold up against the creamy Fage 0% I usually roll with…There is almost always a healthy sprinkling of cinnamon, Milk + Honey Cafe Mix Granola and walnuts involved as well.

I’ve also been rolling on the salad wagon lately. Below is my unbelievably tasty mustard maple chicken atop some butter lettuce, cukes, goat cheese and Sabra roasted red pep hummus. Despite the fact that I was pretty hungry a few hours later (no carbs, maybe?), this salad was GOOD.

image

Today I mixed it up a bit with butter and torn-up red leaf lettuce, cukes, some pinto beans, goat cheese, baby carrots and some organic chicken breast that I slow cooked last night with thyme, TJ’s 21 Seasoning Salute, garlic powder and veggie broth. The chicken was insanely flavorful, and all the flavors mixed together perfectly. As a bonus, the added beans really gave this bad boy some sticking power, but because I am a fatty and seriously can’t understand how anyone can eat JUST a salad for lunch (wtf??), I swiped a can of Campbell’s chicken noodle from a friend, watered down half the can with some hot water from the Keurig, and had at it (only 70 calories! nice!). It was a perfect lunch for a wet, dreary day. I love gloomy weather from time to time, but Chicago has been testing my patience recently…

Anyway, I’m off to finish up the work day. I did some seriously ill-advised shopping last week and came home with far too many adorable dresses, so I’ll be sure to share those coming up here. Thanks for reading my nutty rant, and please do provide feedback if you have any, I’d love to hear from you!

Entry filed under: Fashion, Fitness, Food and diet, Life, Motivation, Recipes, Self confidence, Shameless consumerism, Work. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Droolworthy: Sunny White Sangria I hate the dentist

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jen from Lilly Pea Designs  |  May 26, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    HI there! My first time here at Pretty Little Words so I can’t comment on your diligence prior to this particular post. I can tell you that the beginning of this year my husband and I purchased our first house at the same time I landed a new job. Just like you my workouts took a back seat (for prolly a good 2-3 months, yikes). Once my life and routine adjusted to all the new aspects I found myself missing my workouts. To help myself get excited I found a new circuit routine- it was exactly what I needed to kick my butt back into gear! Hope you find your mojo soon!!!

    Reply
    • 2. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  May 27, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      Hi Jen, thanks so much for commenting!!!

      I tend to be a total wuss and shy away from circuit workouts (for no real reason, either) so maybe I should give it a shot. I definitely think I need something new….I have also been meaning to try spinning — never done it!

      I can’t even imagine finding the time to work out with a new job and buying a house, so good for you for getting back on the horse. Hope to see you on here more in the future! :)

      Reply
  • 3. Amy  |  May 27, 2011 at 11:40 am

    Love,

    I’m so happy I decided to check out a few of my favorite blogs this morning because otherwise I wouldn’t have known to remind you: YOU ARE RUNNING PROUD TO RUN WITH ME. You are the one who put the idea in my head, so you can’t back out. We have one month to step it up, and that is more than enough time! Don’t worry, my training is also lagging…I’m only on week 4 in a 12-week training set. BAD! If anything, please do it with me for moral support. We’ll go and dress up like rainbows and take silly pictures and have a great time. :)

    I suggest we sign up next week, so there’s no backing out! We should also go for a run this weekend around Lincoln Park. Be excited! This is going to be great!

    Reply
    • 4. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  May 27, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      Oh Amy — I love you!! Haha this is exactly what I need, someone to kick my ass if I even think about backing out :) You’re the best!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


