Near and dear to my heart

May 13, 2011 at 3:45 pm Leave a comment

When I was growing up, my mom spent a lot of time holed up in her bedroom, lying in her bed with the lights off and a cold towel draped over her face. I always thought she was stressed out or not feeling well, but never really understood what was going on.

The word migraine floated around a lot, but I had no idea what it meant.

She spent years — the majority of her life, actually, starting at age 13 — dealing with frequent and often debilitating migraines. Since I was too young to understand the severity of the situation (not to mention that migraines are difficult to describe and explain anyway), I shrugged it off. It’s only now that I’ve begun to understand how truly devastating this disease was for her.

Thankfully she was able to work out a combination of medication that works to hold off her migraines almost entirely. As far as I have heard from others, this is a rare thing, so I am truly thankful that she is able to function normally now, nearly pain-free. She is also incredibly grateful, as I’m sure you can imagine.

Unfortunately, my good friend Allison is still dealing with the ongoing battle of her disease. She’s incredible, hilarious and a great friend to have around (not to mention a fellow cat lady herself — hi Bosco!), so it breaks my heart to hear about the constant pain she deals with every day, as well as the huge impact it has had on her life.

As an outlet for her frustration, as well as as way to help others dealing with migraines, she has started a blog called Allison in Migraineland. At this point, I’m not too sure how many people are reading my little bloggie here, but I’m hoping that if any of you are coping with this disease, her blog may be another resource for you! She recently reviewed a few smartphone apps for tracking migraines, and also regularly discusses new treatments she tries, like biofeedback. Even if you don’t suffer from migraines, I highly recommend checking out her blog and learning about this debilitating disease that affects an estimated 30 million Americans and 18% of American women. And tell her Laura says hi!

Entry filed under: Favorite blogs, Life, Linked. Tags: , , , , .

Tragic A bit premature?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


