Hot & cold

May 11, 2011 at 12:15 pm 4 comments

I thought about posting one of those pictures that show how many tiny particles of saliva/snot explode when you sneeze, but it was a little too gross — even for me. I thought this one was a nice substitute :)

It’s finally getting warm out in Chicago (oh hey there, May) and of course, I caught a cold. As I mentioned before, I pushed myself too hard in the previous few weeks, and haven’t been eating my normal (mostly) nutritious meals, so my body just crapped out on me. I’m certain now that it’s a cold because I’m still sick, and colds have that wonderful habit of sticking around for two weeks. There are few things more frustrating than not being able to breathe/taste things/go five minutes without blowing your nose when it’s 80-something degrees outside. Bleh! I have been resting up a lot (aka not going to the gym) and sleeping in the hopes that this thing will get lost soon. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

BUT — in case you didn’t understand, it’s EIGHTY-SOMETHING DEGREES OUT. Hallelujah!

I’m convinced there is no better place than Chicago in the summer.

Ohhhhh, I can’t wait.

Considering the fact that I’ve been sick and tired for two weeks, I’ve still been in a pretty excellent mood most of the time. That is, until yesterday. I had a rather unsavory conversation that left a stormcloud over my head most of the day, and through the night. After being exhausted, sad and stressed out most of the day, I finally just let loose and let myself have a good cry after getting tucked into bed. It sucked, and it made me sad, but it was also somewhat cathartic. I know not everyone agrees, but sometimes it can be very therapeutic to just let yourself be sad, let out all the emotion/frustration/embarrassingly deep sobs and just cry. It needed to happen, and I’m still sad, but I’m a little more at peace now that I’ve come to peace with the fact that this specific issue is bothering me.

I’m wondering if maybe I need some yoga in my life right now? (Pardon me for saying this, but who am I?)

As if by magic (or clever scheduling, same thing), I have a massage appointment scheduled for after work and could not be more thrilled. Honestly, I rarely treat myself to massages/pedicures/etc. (I’m broke and cheap most of the time), but this time it is sorely (hah!) needed.

I just noticed I’m making a lot of bad puns here; thinking this means it’s time to wind this post down…

Anyway, just wanted to pop in and say hello. I’m thrilled with my new job and mostly pleased with my new apartment, so aside from the noted issues above, life ain’t all that bad right now. I get my first paycheck Friday in ages (which, unfortunately, is already accounted for in the form of bills), so I won’t be (as) broke soon either.

Oh yeah, and did I mention it was 80 degrees out?

Have a great day, y’all :)

Up next: look out for some musings on cooking in a tiny, tiny kitchen/apartment.

Entry filed under: General, Humor, Life, Work. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Linked: no ordinary cube Snap: flavored coffee

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aroomofheroine  |  May 11, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    Sometimes a good cry does the trick. It offers a tempting combination of physical relief, serenity, and ahhhhhh.

    The fact that you may have to introduce your pillowcase to your washing machine posthaste (especially if you have a cold) is a small price to pay for feeling damned good after a cry.

    When I was at uni years ago, being away from my family made me homesick. Even after I developed the ”I look FORWARD to seeing everyone again,” mindset (a wholly positive and useful experience), I still had a good wail on my bedroom floor from time to time. Mostly in a pile of clean washing which I was too lazy to put in the cupboard.

    Make the most of the tears. They are good for the eyes, and good for the spirit.

    And good luck with that cold.

    PS. We’ve had a bit of a cold snap here in Sydney, and I have spent the past two days wearing a beanie, a surprisingly spunky look.

    Reply
    • 2. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  May 11, 2011 at 11:18 pm

      You’re right…I wonder what it is about just letting yourself wail that feels awful, but amazing at the same time? Relief is a great way to put it though.

      I’m so excited that I have a reader in Sydney, how neat! Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting, it made my day! :)

      Reply
  • 3. aroomofheroine  |  May 15, 2011 at 6:16 am

    You’re welcome, Laura.

    Reply
  • 4. Bethany  |  May 29, 2011 at 11:42 am

    (another super delayed comment. I’ve been in Scotland for three weeks and had some catching up to do).

    *There is no better place than Chicago. Period.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Archives


