This…

April 12, 2011 at 11:51 pm 2 comments

..is what I’m doing right now:

Snugglin’ with this goofy lookin’ guy and catching up on blogs. Aren’t we quite the pair?

I was just reading Julie’s sweet post about how, no matter how foul her mood, she is always cheered up instantly by her Viszla pup, Sadie. While I’ll admit that having two cats can sometimes be a slight (okay, a huge) pain in the ass, I’m still thankful for them most of the time. They are such sweet, playful and cuddly kitties, and they are always there when I need company or just a good snuggle buddy.

Okay, I know — I am a crazy cat lady. Bear with me anyway?

I’ve been very stressed out this week due to my shifting living situation. The apartment that I will be moving into (or would like to be, at least) isn’t 100% available yet (the current tenant is still waiting on word from her new apartment…it’s so complicated!), so I am on pins and needles waiting to hear that my rental will go through. If it doesn’t, I may be homeless in a few weeks!

It is also the last week at my current job, which I absolutely love, so I am stressed and sad and not handling it very well. I’m so grateful and thrilled to start my new job, but it will be hard leaving a place and group of people (I’m looking at you, Kara) that I have grown to love.

Thankfully, though, the gym is always there. After receiving a particularly horrible text message from my particularly horrible roommate, I was furious, stressed out and wanting to strangle someone. So I hopped on the treadmill, turned up my iPod and ran my fastest mile to date! It was awesome. I have never felt my blood flowing through my body like that, and I felt like I could squeeze every ounce of energy from the day’s stress into energy for my legs. After two more, I hopped off feeling lighter — physically and mentally.

Sweat > therapy.

I have been lazy and haven’t been cooking anything exciting this week. I’ve also been eating much less than usual due to stress (this is unusual for me — it takes a LOT to get my mind off of food!), so I don’t have too many exciting eats to share this week! On the way to a friend’s house tonight, though, I did stop at WF and picked up some delicious-looking and in-season strawberries and mangoes! I also grabbed some salad fixins. VERY excited to incorporate those into some meals, ASAP — my body needs fruits + veggies, stat.

While I was strolling the lovely WF aisles, I also snagged a quickie dinner at the hot/cold bar. I had some marinated green beans, cauliflower, broccoli, sweet potatoes and carrots, a bulgur + quinoa salad, some rosemary-garlic tofu and some yellow daal. The daal was definitely my favorite! It was so flavorful and creamy, I wished I had gotten more. Next time! I also sipped a guava Kombucha. All was scarfed up much too quickly to snap a pic :D

Thanks for hanging in here with me while I get my life figured out, guys….I hope I haven’t bored too many of you to tears! More fun stuff to come soon, I promise!

Entry filed under: Favorite blogs, Fitness, Food and diet, Life, Motivation, Self confidence, Work. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Deep breaths Busy bee

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sipsandsteps  |  April 13, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    Question for you… How did you get the cool background for your blog? I have been having a hard time finding a background that I can upload and use.. any suggestions?

    Reply
    • 2. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  April 13, 2011 at 3:25 pm

      Sure! I started off with a color that I liked and a completely different header…it was very girly and chic, but it didn’t really fit the feel and theme of my blog, so I decided to spend some time re-working it. I spent quite a few hours browsing through free blog theme blogs (that’s a mouthful!) and Google image searched “free blog backgrounds” until I found some options that I liked. If there are certain colors or patterns/images that you like (e.g. paisley), try adding those terms in the search query. I decided on this one because it matched quite nicely with the WordPress theme I picked! But WP makes it super easy, and any background you download should have a “clear” (think free of clutter so you can read the text) area in the center or wherever there is text on your page. You simply upload the image through the WP Dashboard, then decide if you want it to be static (like mine), or the image to repeat and scroll as you go down the page. Does this make sense? Hope it helps!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


