Cranky pants

February 7, 2011 at 11:48 pm Leave a comment

Bleh. I am not in a good mood tonight. And you know the funny thing? I have absolutely no idea why.

Don’tcha hate when that happens?

I stopped at Banana Republic after work today and picked up a few really cute things, but nearly had a heart attack when I got to the register and she gave me my total. Yeahhhh…definitely put a few things back before I let her get her hands on my plastic. I’m sad though, because I had to put back a dress that was absolutely adorable…alas, it was not in the cards this time.

After too much time spent shopping (can someone tell me why J. Crew has neon short shorts and bikinis out already?!), I headed over to the gym, despite the fact that it was late and I was hungry and tired. After getting there, I realized that my iPod had died, and even my phone (which has a radio and Pandora on it) was about to die too…sooo…no music. Maybe that’s why I’m cranky? I tried some leg exercises but my knee was still giving me trouble. I did a quick set up squats and step ups anyway, and tried to take it easy on my poor injured leg (wah wah wah), then did a rather pathetic round of cardio.

And if you didn’t already guess, there was definitely no eggplant tonight. I still kicked ass in the healthy dinner department though.

I had a huge salad with romaine, a sliced up cuke, some tomato and some orange bell pepper, and topped it with a little bit of olive oil, some balsamic, white balsamic, garlic gold and sesame seeds. I also had about 3/4 of a cup of whole wheat penne with some Three Cheese marinara, a sliced up piece of grilled chicken, more garlic gold and freshly grated parmesan.

I underestimated how huge that salad was! I couldn’t even finish it, which is pretty rare for me…heh. I bought a huge bag of organic romaine hearts on sale last week, and although romaine is cost-savvy anyway and was even more so this time around, I just can’t seem to get excited about it. Whenever I want a salad, I want mixed greens — they have more flavor and texture, and I think they simply taste better. They also look a lot more nutritious with so much more green. But alas, money won out this round. And if I’m going to be making more trips like today’s to Banana Republic, I might be stuck on the lentil soup and romaine diet forever…

So, I was completely wrong. The blaspheming burrito is a brand called PJ’s. I suppose on its own it would be fine, but I was expecting my lovely Wild Organics burrito! It just didn’t compare :(

Impostor!

How I “rolled” (heh heh) last week. Too lazy to make a salad.

Over the weekend, I decided to finally try my hand at breakfast quinoa. I used a mish-mash of random recipes on the web and gave it a shot. It was SUPER messy, and I got quinoa and almond milk everywhere. By the way — I had NO idea you had to rinse quinoa — am I the last person to discover this? And how the heck are you supposed to rinse something so tiny?? It turned out pretty delicious nonetheless, and after a generous pour of cinnamon, I added some frozen berries for extra sweetness.

It was a really nice Saturday morning breakfast. Okay, Saturday afternoon.

Lots o’ sunshine coming in!

A rather disappointing, blurry shot of my enormous dinner salad last night:

A truly bad picture, but a truly wonderful salad — even if it did have romaine. Chicken, avocado, goat cheese…the works. Yum. You can only see a little bit of the glass, but I had a tall, icy glass of Two Brother’s Resistance IPA with my dinner. This stuff is GOOD.

Here’s a quick snapshot of the baby cukes I had in my lunch today. I actually don’t think I liked them as much as a regular cucumber, but at least I tried em!

This is not a very good photo either!

That’s it for the photos for now…I am way too tired to put together an outfit for my date tomorrow night, so I think I should just get myself to bed. I’ll probably wear the same thing I always wear (skinny jeans, boots, tank, cardi, long necklace — if you were wondering) and hope for the best. I just want to get up early enough so I have time to make sure I look at least somewhat put together before walking out the door.

Night night…

Entry filed under: Beauty, Boozing, Dating, Fitness, Food and diet. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Super wha? A little sweetness in my day

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


