Too salty!

January 27, 2011 at 11:05 pm Leave a comment

That’s how I would describe my lunch today. Don’t get me wrong, it was delicious, but I definitely think I could have cut down on the sodium content somewhere. In addition to having a TJ’s chicken sausage (which, in the scheme of things, really isn’t too bad), I made my quinoa with veggie broth, which I didn’t realize has 24% of your daily sodium intake in one serving! Sheesh! On top of that, I added some sea salt at the end, not realizing how salty this already was. It was still very tasty though :)

See the roasted leek I snuck in there? The fennel didn’t make it, but the leek was mighty tasty!

big bite of goodness

Quinoa looks so neat close-up! I had a big, tasty salad on the side.

more poppyseed dressing, mmm

leeks + fennel

After work, I stopped at Macy’s to look for a few things I needed. Of course I ended up with a few things I didn’t need. I got a neato silicone spoon since my wooden one had a rather unfortunate, err, fire incident. I also picked up some great tall, thin cocktail glasses (I’m not sure what they’re called) that were on sale for 6 bucks! What a steal. I then had to stop by the makeup counter and, despite needing some new foundation, spent FAR too much money. Bad bad bad!! I really can’t resist expensive makeup….

By the time I got home, I was tired and had seriously considered picking up some Qdoba for a burrito bowl. Thankfully I stuck to my guns and made something healthier and considerably cheaper at home. I went for a quesadilla made with two whole wheat tortillas, a TJ’s goat cheese medallion, some shredded cheddar, some grated parmesan, grilled asparagus, sliced leeks and spinach. On the side, I had some FF Greek yog + Cholula hot sauce (aka spicy sour cream), vegetarian refried beans and some sparkling mineral water + pomegranate juice. It was AWESOME.

for real, how tasty does this bad boy look?

I am SO glad that I made dinner at home, it was very, very good. You can also see my new glass here :)

Have you ever had fat free Greek yogurt instead of sour cream? I always thought it sounded stupid (and wimpy), and I’m crazy about sour cream. But since I only like the full fat stuff, sometimes I have to make concessions…and this is a surprisingly good one! Without any sugar, most of the taste you associate with yogurt is gone, and the little splash of hot sauce makes it so you almost can’t tell the difference!

green + cheesy....mmm

Yeah, this was one tasty dinner, and I am one happy girl :) I’m also exhausted, so I’m going to turn on a movie and hopefully fall asleep. Have a lovely night!

Entry filed under: Beauty, Food and diet, Recipes, Shameless consumerism. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Droolworthy: my tomato flub On “wants” vs. “needs”:

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


