London Weather

January 25, 2011 at 1:21 pm 3 comments

The foggy, misty, still-icky-but-not-that-cold weather Chicago has been having reminds me of the weather the winter I lived in London. It rarely got below 30 degrees, but most days had some sort of misty/rainy overcast business going on. Surprisingly, I loved it…it felt very, I don’t know, romantic? Either way, this weather is making me miss being in London terribly. I really can’t wait to go back — either as a tourist, or as a resident :)

Source

So despite my gung-ho (hah!) attitude about getting laundry done yesterday, it didn’t happen. I swear, mom, I had a good excuse!

A friend was having a yucky, horrible day, so I arrived with reinforcements in hand — a bottle of wine, lots of hugs, and a penchant for Thai food. I honestly believe that “girl time” and maintaining your female friendships is one of the most important parts of life. Relationships come and go, but when you really need them, your girlfriends are always there.

I was going to skip the gym (again) tonight in favor of laundry, but that seemed counterintuitive (somehow?), so I’m really hoping I can get it done anyway tonight. I’m going to be making an eggplant and celery stew for dinner (recipe here!) because I have both an eggplant and a bag of celery waiting to be used in the fridge (I’m trying to get better about using my groceries and budgeting — can be seen in Tina’s latest post here!), so maybe I can get some of the laundry done while that’s cooking.

Lunch today had to be thrown together from the grocery store (talk about contradicting my goal of budgeting right away, sheesh) because I got home late last night and didn’t have the energy to put a lunch together. It came out really good anyway, though!

I had about 3/4 of a red bell pepper cut up (they were SOOO pretty and on sale for $0.99!), a sliced organic cucumber, some fat-free ranch salad dressing for dipping and my favorite chicken burrito. I normally don’t eat fat-free salad dressings because, aside from tasting bad, I think they’re really silly. Veggies need fat to help you absorb their nutrients, and usually these FF dressings are loaded with sugar and HFCS to compensate for their lack of fat (aka flavor). I think I should have stuck to my guns, because I’m now dealing with a really awful stomach ache, and there wouldn’t be any other reason for it. I actually am wondering if it might be the corn syrup, because I have essentially cut that stuff out of my diet completely. Does anyone else ever have trouble with HFCS sensitivity?

The kitties have been super cuddly lately…perhaps they’re wanting to bundle up because of this weather too. Some shameless Mojo pictures…

why are you taking pictures of me? leave me alone!

okay fine, I'll be cute...but just this ONCE

Entry filed under: Boozing, Fitness, Food and diet, General, Recipes, Self confidence. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Blinks & Tanks Droolworthy: Lemon Curd

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kate @ Diethood.com  |  January 25, 2011 at 3:03 pm

    I love making chicken burritos! We have them at least couple times a month.

    I hate FF dressings – I just go with my own; evoo, red wine vinegar, sea salt, dijon mustard and a whisk! :)

    Reply
    • 2. Laura @ prettylittlewords  |  January 25, 2011 at 3:06 pm

      This is actually a store-bought version (you can see it in the link), but it’s still SOOO yummy :)

      And I agree! They are so yucky and flavorless. I didn’t have anything else on hand, so I tried out the FF stuff. Next time I think I will eat the veggies plain =/ I actually really like plain old olive oil + sea salt as a dressing too!

      Reply
  • 3. I tried it: dessert hummus! « prettylittlewords  |  January 25, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    […] was the eggplant and celery stew that I planned on trying, and this too turned out absolutely delicious. It took a little longer than most of my dinners, […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


