I tried it: dessert hummus!

January 25, 2011 at 11:41 pm Leave a comment

After seeing it popping up all over the blogosphere, I knew I had to try it. But the question was, could I get over the weird-sounding combination of chickpeas and….sweet stuff? It just sounded WRONG!

When the Fitnessista posted about it today, however, I knew I had to try this tonight. I went with the Wannabe Chef’s Snickerdoodle Hummus, which is a cinnamony, sugary flavor, just like the cookie. So what did I think?

Source

Yeah. It was that good.

As I was spooning the stuff straight out of the blender (actually, the Magic Bullet) I was thinking about how I would describe it…and I drew a blank. You can sort of taste the chickpeas, but at the same time, their flavor complements the other flavors in the recipe. I added a little extra of all the good stuff: almond butter, maple syrup (REAL maple syrup, mind you), cinnamon and brown sugar. The texture is similar to that of peanut butter, but more like…ready for it? COOKIE DOUGH. And it even tastes like cookie dough!

I’m still at a loss for what to snack on this with, so for the moment, its served a la finger. Yum yum yum. Don’t hate me, but I was too engrossed in this stuff to take a picture. I’ll take one tomorrow before I eat it all up, I promise!!!

Dinner was the eggplant and celery stew that I planned on trying, and this too turned out absolutely delicious. It took a little longer than most of my dinners, and I dirtied quite a few dishes (a huge pet peeve of mine), but boy was it worth it. I honestly wanted to lick my bowl clean. After simmering for about an hour in cream and olive oil and veggie broth, the eggplant was SO tender. I had planned on making a side of basmati rice, but I was out of the white stuff and the brown takes forever to cook…so I ended up whipping up some Arborio in my new rice cooker. I made it with some olive oil, and did half veggie broth and half water. I had no idea this could be so tasty!

A few modifications I made on the recipe:

  • My eggplant was not very large…it was medium or small, or maybe a baby eggplant. I’m not really sure, because it was whatever was on sale!
  • I used Dorot cubes instead of fresh garlic
  • I used half & half instead of heavy cream
  • I added a healthy-sized pat of butter (you know you want to)

Other than that, I pretty much stuck to the recipe, and it was seriously incredible. Decadent, but still not overly heavy or rich. I made enough so I can have it for lunch tomorrow, so I’ll snap a pic. I have some brown basmati cooking away in the rice cooker right now, so I’ll have it ready for tomorrow :)

My workout tonight was INTENSE. I did 30 minutes on the recline bike to warm up, then did a 20-min interval workout on the treadmill. I was starting to get hungry and tired at this point because it was already almost 8 o’clock, but I knew I wanted to lift so I went for it. I don’t know if I was just tired or maybe pushed myself a little too hard last time, but it was ROUGH lifting these weights today. I used the same weights I normally do for everything except lateral shoulder raises — for some really odd reason, every single 8-lb weight was gone from the lifting area. How strange, right??? So I took it as a sign that it was time to upgrade to 10 lbs :)

That was tough, but not so bad….but the rest of my usual arms/shoulders circuit felt much tougher than usual. I wish I knew why! I was sweaty, shaky and STARVING by the time I got home, so because I knew it was going to take me a while to make dinner, I whipped up a quick protein smoothie to refuel and tide me over. I used;

  • about 1/4 cup FF Greek yogurt
  • about 1/2 cup unsweetened plain almond milk
  • packet of Stevia
  • about 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1 scoop Naturade Vanilla Whey Protein Powder
  • 2 ice cubes
  • splash of 100% pomegranate juice

It was DELISH! Yum! I had quite a tasty night. My apologies for the lack of pictures…I was too hungry and too tired :/

And now if you’ll excuse me, I have to go get a load of laundry out of the dryer :)

Goodnight!

Entry filed under: Favorite blogs, Fitness, Food and diet, Recipes. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Droolworthy: How to Broil Eggs Why you need an alarm clock that wakes you up

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Archives


