Gray Mondays…

January 24, 2011 at 1:39 pm Leave a comment

It is certainly one of those Mondays where I would give anything to be curled up under my covers in my pajamas. It’s a misty, foggy, overcast day in Chicago and my head is feeling just about as foggy. I would give anything to be one of those people that’s bright eyed and bushy tailed on Monday mornings…or mornings in general. How do people do that??

I had a tiring but enjoyable weekend with a friend that came into town for the Bears/Packers game. We spent a lot of time out, catching up and enjoying the cocktails. We hadn’t seen each other since I moved away from Madison in July, so I was thrilled to finally get to see her.

Too bad the Bears were crushed.

Report: Bears’ Cutler suffered torn MCL against Packers.

It was a somber mood inside our Wrigleyville bar, but I have to hand it to my visiting Packer friends — they kept it respectful. At least, I imagine, until they were out of sight from us grieving Bears fans.

Aside from the pitiful game, the rest of the weekend had a great feel to it. For the last week or two though, I’ve felt like my body has been fighting off some sort of bug; I haven’t felt sick per-se, but kind of worn down and blah. Unfortunately, two of my roommates have had nasty colds, so I was really concerned I was next on the list.

After going out for a few drinks Friday night, I woke up Saturday feeling congested, groggy and just overall nasty. At first I thought it was allergies, but my roommate insisted the rhinovirus had me in a deathgrip. This is where discipline comes in: instead of sitting around feeling gross, I got my butt up and off to the gym, did some low-impact cardio and lifted weights. And I am SO GLAD that I did.

I still feel sort of run down, but I woke up Sunday feeling much better and like the nasty cold feeling (you know that indescribable, but very distinctive feeling you get when you know you’re getting sick?) had gone away. Yay!!! I truly believe that when I am eating well and exercising regularly, I get sick FAR less often. I love mah bod when it does what it’s supposed to do! :)

After dulling the pain of the Bears defeat with a slice of Ian’s pizza, I spent the rest of my evening running some errands. I reserved a Zipcar for an hour and a half, but couldn’t get inside the car because my card wasn’t working. After sitting on the phone with them for half an hour and walking to THREE different car locations, we finally tracked one down that had an extra card in it. Phew! Thankfully they have great customer service and hooked me up with a free extra half hour.

Zipcar is quite possibly my favorite thing ever

First stop was Target, where I picked up a HUGE 35 lb bucket of cat litter. Boy, those cats really have no idea of the grunt work that goes into their creature comforts….I spent too much money on Target essentials like cleaning supplies, yogurt and mascara. Yep.

A far more exciting next stop was Trader Joe’s! I walked away with all sorts of goodies, ranging from fresh fennel, to heirloom tomatoes, to goat cheese and some frozen shrimp. YUM. Unfortunately, my bill was crazy high (although I did buy some “super greens” supplements that were a whopping $20) and I was kicking myself after already dropping a wad of cash at Target.

Tina over at Carrot’s n Cake posted a great grocery shopping guide from which I could stand to learn a few lessons. Her main take home point is planning, which I am not very good at doing. She suggests taking time every Sunday to assess what is in your pantry and come up with a plan of how you can use things you already have, specifically things that are about to go bad.

My problem (although I hardly see this as a problem!) is that I love food and get overwhelmed/excited/overstimulated whenever I hit up the grocery store — particularly Whole Foods or TJ’s. For the most part, I can avoid going into a food frenzy by sticking to my standard foods. Don’t get me wrong, I love my go-to products, but sometimes things can get a little boring. And that boring part is what leads me to spend $15 on gourmet smoked salmon.

Oops.

Despite my overindulgence, I was able to make some really tasty meals with all the loot that I scored :) Since a slice of cheese pizza won’t fill you up for very long, I snacked on a toasted mini whole wheat bagel, topped with some fresh sliced fennel, goat cheese and smoked salmon while I made my lunch for the next day. I wish I would have gotten a picture, but it was too good to stop and put down! Yum!

Lunch today was a salad consisting of: mixed greens, sliced tomato, crumbled goat cheese, walnuts, sprouts, cukes, sliced fennel and some delish poppyseed dressing. I also had some Trader Joe’s black bean soup (which tasted remarkably similar to the Amy’s stuff, but was a whole buck cheaper!), but I couldn’t finish the can because it was a tad too salty for me.

On the to-do list for today is LAUNDRY. I hate to skip the gym for boring old chores, but the two activities are directly related because I am out of clean gym clothes! Ack!

yucky

I’m thinking I’d like to make some of the shrimp I bought for dinner, but I’m not sure what I want to make with it…Perhaps another round of my quickie pesto! I didn’t have a single vegetable yesterday though (unless you count french fries…), so I’ll need to have an extra serving or two today.

My apologies for the lack of pictures…I can only upload from my computer at home, so for now it’s plain old stock photos.

Entry filed under: Favorite blogs, Food and diet, General. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Guilty Pleasures: Shun, Shag, Or Marry: Reality TV Weight Loss Shows | The Frisky Blinks & Tanks

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 17 other followers

Archives


