I’m back!

January 10, 2011 at 2:13 pm 1 comment

It seems like every time I sat down to blog, some reason or another came up that prevented me from doing so….bleh! But alas, here I am!

It has been an eventful two weeks: new year, new job, new resolutions and even a new date. Life has kept me busy but I’ve been making a concentrated effort not to let the things that are important to me slip by the sidelines. As an added New Year’s goal, I’ve decided that each day, I should aim to be a better person…whatever that may mean for the day. Yesterday, it meant cleaning up my apartment and sweeping the porch for my neighbors after my stupid garbage bag RIPPED open on a nail and spilled cat litter everywhere. GROSS.

Despite having a rather full calendar lately (for example, tonight is my only “free” night until Friday! Yikes!), I’ve managed to keep my eating and exercise mostly in good shape. I’ve continued bringing my gym duffel to work most days which really helps, despite how much I still hate it. (Once I make a little more money, I might look into renting a locker at the gym, just for convenience’s sake). I’ve also gotten back into eating salads after taking a long break from them, and I’m glad they’re back! I love how I can eat a huge salad for lunch with tons of yummy flavors and colors, and feel totally full for relatively few calories.

My usual salad lately goes like this:

  • heaping plateful of mixed greens (organic if I’m feeling fancy)
  • halved cherry/grape tomatoes
  • a few walnut halves
  • a quick shake of sunflower seeds
  • a quarter of an avocado, cubed
  • half a bell pepper, sliced
  • alfalfa sprouts
  • half a cucumber, sliced
  • a sprinkle of feta or blue cheese if it’s around

Today’s salad didn’t have any cheese on it but it was deeeee-licous. I should have cut up the cucumbers more though, because it was all over my face and I made a huge fool out of myself, making a mess. Like I always do…oh well.

I complemented my tasty salad with a Wild Organics Natural Chicken Burrito from Jewel.

YUM!

It was delicious and I started slowing down toward the end, taking tiny bites so it would last longer. Needless to say, my lunch companion Kara laughed her ass off. Bitch.

( Just kidding Kara, I love you :D )

Breakfast was somewhat disappointing. I was too tired this morning to make something at home, and while I usually just make oatmeal at the office, I was out and hadn’t yet picked up more to re-stock. By the way, if you haven’t tried this stuff, you MUST:

breakfast in a pinch!

In its place, I decided to grab a coffee to wake myself up, and Caribou has a promotion where any of their breakfast sandwiches are $2 along with a coffee. I tried their turkey bacon, egg white and spinach “Daybreaker” (lame name, no?) because it sounded like it would be the healthiest, but I really would have rather had the chicken sausage and cheddar :D

I looked up the calorie count when I got to the office, and it actually wasn’t bad at all, but the sandwich was just so-so. It was on a whole wheat brioche bun that was pretty good (not sure if it was 100% or not…guessing not), and had an egg white (duh), Swiss cheese, a paltry crumb of two of turkey bacon and a shmear of some spinach florentine goo-type spread. It was bland, and not that filling, but I was feeling tired and lazy and it served its purpose. I guess it was only two bucks…*shrug* I think I almost would have rather had an Egg McMuffin.

There’s a good review here…it looks like I should have gotten the chicken sausage one after all! Their review of the one I had is spot on.

Mine is in the middle...but it didn't look quite as nice

While we’re on the topic of my laziness-induced takeout binge, I might as well share what I had for dinner Friday night — PORTILLO’s. If you’re not in the Chicagoland area, you may not be familiar with this small chain, but if you’re hankering for some fast food, this is the place. I was feeling particularly naughty, so I got a cheeseburger with all the fixins (save the mayo) and some tasty cheese fries. And because I’m disgusting, I dumped the remainder of the cheese-fry-goo on my cheeseburger. Heaven.

my burger didn't have bacon but it looked just as tasty!

If milkshakes are your thing, they have this cake batter chocolate shake that is CRAZY good. I’m lactose intolerant (oh don’t act surprised…everyone knows that cheese fries don’t use real cheese!), so I dare attempt this lactose-ridden beast once in a blue moon, but it is THE BOMB. Try it. For reals.

 

in case you’re wondering, yes — that is CAKE MIX blended in

(This is not my lovely hand modeling)

On Saturday night, I went to Buddy Guy’s Legends to see….Buddy Guy! It was a birthday present from my brother and I had a great time. Of course we had to sample the Southern fare (read: fried) that they served, so I had a chicken fried chicken sandwich with gravy and fried crawfish on the side. It was good, but not really worth all the calories and sluggish feeling that followed. Needless to say, I was so full I couldn’t even finish my beers during the concert afterward. The music was amazing though, and I had a great time with my brother and sister-in-law!

The rest of my meals have been relatively saintly to compensate for my dietary choices resembling those of a 400 lb. man. I’m trying to incorporate more smoothies into my diet, especially before or after a challenging workout, and have been blending spinach into them! It’s surprising that you really can’t taste it at all!

I’ll upload some more pictures once they come through via email (too lazy to track down a cord), so check back for more action!

Entry filed under: Fitness, Food and diet, Music. Tags: , , , , , .

I am such a slacker “Ruh roh”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. London Weather « prettylittlewords  |  January 25, 2011 at 1:22 pm

    […] sale for $0.99!), a sliced organic cucumber, some fat-free ranch salad dressing for dipping and my favorite chicken burrito. I normally don’t eat fat-free salad dressings because, aside from tasting bad, I think […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


