I am such a slacker

December 30, 2010 at 11:30 am Leave a comment

Guys, I am so bummed! I had this awesome sounding recipe for coconut lime shrimp from One Fit Foodie that I was totally psyched to try out for dinner. After I got home later than I would have liked from an appointment, I set to work getting things prepared for dinner. First, I made some instant brown rice (blegh) that turned out way too gooey. Then when I went to thaw out my shrimp,  I realized that the bag had been open in the freezer and all of it was freezer burned. Gross!

I decided to roll with the punches anyway and make coconut lime chicken instead. While it was simmering (and I was attempting to salvage my gross mushy rice) it smelled amazing, so I figured it would turn out delish anyway. WRONG. I must have put way too much lime juice + lime zest in or something, because I could barely taste the coconut over all that TANG. I was so sad because it smelled amazing, and the recipe was even healthy, but my messed up version tasted like I was sucking on a lime. I tried adding a little bit of sugar to cut some of the lime and it helped a bit, but I think I will just have to tweak this one a few times before I get it right. Kitchen fail. Let me know if any of you try it out and succeed!

mine didn't look anywhere near this delicious :(

source

Anyway, after my chicken-shrimp-lime disaster, I decided I needed a glass (or three) of wine on the couch, and watched an episode of the Millonaire Matchmaker (I’m a classy lady) from my DVR. Nope, no gym. By the time it was over it was almost 10 (!) already, so I cleaned up the kitchen and hopped into bed to watch a movie. I was hoping to fall asleep quickly, but I was so engrossed in this documentary I turned on from Netflix that I watched the whole thing. I must warn you, it reflects my social and personal views, so if you’re a conservative lady, you might want to steer clear of this one.

Going to be another busy day today. The weather is so gross and rainy, but I have plans to meet up with a friend or two after work for some delicious food and drinks. Can’t wait!

Entry filed under: Favorite blogs, Fitness, Food and diet, General, Movies. Tags: , , , , .

A busy, but decent day I’m back!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


