Someone should pay me to do this + garlic mashed sweet potatoes

December 27, 2010 at 7:18 pm Leave a comment

Do you ever have those moments where you totally amaze yourself?

I know I’m a good cook, and when I’m actually putting the effort into it, I can come up with some really incredible meals. One skill I have yet to nail down, though, is cooking an elaborate or really fabulous dinner without either a) dirtying 29034954834958 dishes or b) taking 3 hours. The stuff I whip up on an exhausted Monday evening like this one still tastes great, but I have a short list of standbys that doesn’t vary much from pasta, a Lean Cuisine, or chicken and veggies. I try to keep it healthy, but it’s usually not very imaginative.

On the bus ride home from work tonight, I could barely keep my eyes open. Having already decided a trip to the gym was just simply not in the cards, I was trying to come up with a way to cook something decent that wouldn’t totally make me feel like a slob. Next thing I know, I have this:

hot, filling and deeee-licious

I apologize for the bite taken before the picture, but i couldn’t help myself! I pan seared a frozen filet of salmon from Whole foods, steamed some asparagus and — the piece de resistance — made whipped garlic mashed yams. YAMS. Oh my gosh, they were so good, I had to share:

Laura’s super easy, garlicky, clean-your-plate, single gal mashed yams

Ingredients:

1 medium yam, washed, peeled and chopped into smallish cubes

1/2-2 cloves garlic (as little or as much as you like) peeled and minced

small lump butter (again, as much as you like)

about a teaspoon of good quality olive oil

sea salt to taste

2-4 tablespoons nonfat Greek yogurt (I like Fage)

Directions:

Boil water in a medium saucepan and drop chopped yam into water. Boil until soft, about 10-15 minutes. While yam is boiling, melt butter into garlic and olive oil on medium low in medium saucepan. Simmer for a few minutes until butter is melted and flavors combine. Drain yam in colander and place into medium bowl. Add garlic butter, sea salt and Greek yogurt. Mash with potato masher or fork until smooth or desired texture. Quickly heat in microwave if the Greek yogurt cooled it off too much. Serve with other delicious food or by itself, on plate or straight out of bowl. Enjoy.

I apologize for the lack of specific directions, but this is exactly how I made it and it turned out great! You can adjust the recipe to your taste, and of course for more servings. I loved this because on top of being delicious, it was really easy to make and didn’t leave me with gobs of leftovers. Yum!

Entry filed under: Food and diet, General, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Prepare for the worst, feel the best! Thinking about the new year

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


