It was a close call

December 20, 2010 at 10:18 pm Leave a comment

I definitely tested myself tonight. If I hadn’t posted here about getting to the gym after work (although I’m not sure how many people even read this yet!), I may not have gotten there at all!

It was already snowing pretty heavily when I walked out of work at 5:30, and while I waited for my bus, it picked up even more. A friend called and asked if I wanted to come over for Monday night football…and pizza. It was the moment of truth. I began to tell him yes, but remembered that I had made a commitment to myself and that I needed to stick to it. Although I was sad to miss some friend time (note: I do not advocate blowing off friends and family for the gym, but I think Monday nights + junk food are an exception), I was really glad that I made the healthier choice. And surprise surprise, the Jillian Michaels feature in SELF was actually pretty good! It gave me some ideas for my much lacking lunch-dinner routine of either soup, sandwich or (healthy) takeout.

Unfortunately, it was snowing HEAVILY when I left to head home, and I had to trudge through the yucky wet stuff in my pretty boots. I was not pleased! But when I got home, I had my fitness magazine waiting for me, and I whipped up a tasty dinner.

just right for a snowy post-workout evening

To accompany my reading material, I had a can of Wolfgang Puck’s Thick Hearty Vegetable Soup, a toasted whole wheat bagel topped with hummus, cherry tomatoes, avocado and some sprouts, and a glass of sparkling rose wine left over from our Christmas party on Saturday. Yum!

If you’re a big canned soup fan (I’m actually not, but I put up with it for convenience’s sake at work), you must try this soup. It is honestly the most delicious canned soup I’ve ever tasted (I actually licked the bowl!), and doesn’t have that metallic, canny taste that most canned soups have. Be aware, it’s not low-cal: the entire can (seriously, who eats less than the can??) has about 235 calories, and about 9 grams of fat (~5.5g saturated), but if you know how to balance the rest of your meal, it can easily fit into a healthy diet. It’s also organic! Seriously, you have to give this stuff a try :)

I know I’ve posted four times today…phew! Let’s just say I got a little over-excited about writing outside of work again. Any feedback or comments are greatly appreciated, so please feel free!

For those of you in snowy parts of the country, be safe!

Entry filed under: Fitness, Food and diet.

Motivation… The Frisky wants to know…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


