Hello world!

December 19, 2010 at 11:31 pm 2 comments

shhh...don't tell anyone I'm blogging at work :)

I thought the WordPress-provided title for this post was an appropriate one, so stay it shall! Hello world!

I’ve been wanting to blog for some time now, but haven’t really been able to get the momentum going. I often wonder how bloggers get started….what motivated them to begin writing in the first place, and what words are swirling around in those heads of theirs. I’ve also thought about what I would write if I had one (now I do!)….and what sort of tone it would take. It’s no secret to anyone who knows me that I’m a potty mouth. Seriously, I’m heavy competition for any sailor-mouth around. But on the other side, I seriously enjoy pretty things: pretty words (hah!), pretty pictures….and overall positivity.

So you know what, we’ll see if I can take on this challenge of combining both — the pretty and the nasty. Maybe my words won’t always be pretty, but at least they’ll be honest.

To answer the question above myself, I was motivated to start writing this because I needed a serious reminder of all the reasons I have to be happy. Lately I’ve been surrounded by some very negative energy, and, as I always seem to do, I began to let myself get bogged down with it. It’s important to remind yourself every day that things will never work out exactly as you hope or plan. You can’t hide out waiting for something bad to pass, or shrink away, hoping you can wait it out.

So on a lighter note, today I wanted to share a few sites I can always turn to when I need a bright spot in my day, or simply a really good laugh. More to come!

bitches gotta eat: Sam is seriously one of my favorite bloggers of all time. Be warned now, she is not for the faint of heart; there are lots of dirty words, raunchy stories, and…er…just a lot of non-pc stuff. But if you can let the raunch slide, or — as I do — revel in it, this is for you. If you look back through her archives there are a few recipes, but this blog focuses more on Sam’s hilarious outlook on life, and can help you take yours a little less seriously.

Peanut Butter Fingers: I just started reading this recently after seeing a link to it somewhere (can’t remember where!) and have gotten hooked. Julie is an adorable 25 year-old newlywed that posts a fun mix of posts detailing her daily (uberhealthy) diet and recipes, pictures of her cute hubby and dog, workout and healthy eating advice, and recaps of her daily life. I think my favorite part about reading PB Fingers is the overwhelmingly positive attitude — sometimes it’s just what I need!

fitsugar: This is a great one to keep open in a tab throughout the day if you need a little pick-me-up while at work. The “Sugar” blogs have lots of categories: Money, babies, food, fashion and more, but this is probably the one I visit most frequently. They update the site pretty regularly, and you can always find fun, easy to digest content about health and fitness. This is a must-check every day for me.

The Frisky: The Frisky is another must-check for me every day. They have nailed the perfect mix between celebrity gossip, feminist rants, sex & relationship advice and mindless, fun links. It’s updated very frequently and has a really cool community of readers. It’s hard not to get sucked into this one, and I guarantee it will have you laughing all day. If you’re sick of Perez Hilton, this is the perfect antidote for you.

That’s all for now! It remains to be seen how often I’ll post here, but I’m hoping it becomes a regular staple. Thanks for reading my first post! :)

Entry filed under: General. Tags: , , , , , , , , , .

Happy feet

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Denim  |  December 20, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    Well Hello back to you as well. Blogging is a new adventure for me as well so I understand where you are coming from. Good links and hope you keep on blogging!

    Reply
    • 2. ljbren  |  December 20, 2010 at 1:23 pm

      Thanks, Denim! :)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Hi, I’m Laura!

Pretty Little Tweets

Recent Posts

Want a few more words?

You can contact me at prettylittlewordsblog at gmail dot com :)

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

Archives


